Kim Reaper: Grim Beginnings

F700222B-D222-4D54-BC5E-147F9EA633D2

Sarah Graley’s Kim Reaper: Grim Beginnings from Oni Press hit shelves and e-books just in time for Valentines Day. Fans of Rick and Morty will recognize Graley’s work from Lil’ Poopy Superstar while others might know her from her diary comic Our Super Adventure

Kim Reaper opens in an university art class where Becka, her roommate Tyler, and Kim are all in attendance. Becka is all about Kim, but Kim doesn’t seem to know that she is alive. It is a tale as old as time, really.

While Becka knows that Kim is a “cutie with a booty,” what she doesn’t know could be deadly. To make rent, Kim is a part-time grim reaper. Since she is a noob, she is relegated to reaping animal souls, but a job is a job!

Becka and Kim make an interesting pair. Becka has a positive outlook and knows exactly what she wants. (She is also vocal about it, which is refreshing.) Kim, on the other hand, begins as a reserved character, more concerned with her job than the people around her. When they meet and begin influencing one another, that is when I fell in love with them both, for their faults as well as their strengths.

I heartily recommend this volume for readers who enjoy a little romance and comedy with their supernatural stories. Sarah Graley obviously loves these characters and writes them in such a way that you can’t help but become invested in their lives.

*Thank you to Net Galley and Oni Press for providing me with an electronic ARC to write this review.

 

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s